Make a significant contribution of renewable energy sources to the national grid

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa called on power sector experts to help make a significant contribution of renewable energy sources to the national grid.

The government has set itself the target of generating 70% of total electricity demand from renewable energy sources.

The potential is already there to generate nearly 700 megawatts of electricity from solar energy.

However, public opinion is that it was not made possible due to opposition from CEB engineers. The President said it could be rectified and a practical contribution could be made to solving the electricity crisis.

The President made the observation during a discussion held at the President’s house in Colombo on Thursday evening to discuss the problems faced in securing the contribution of renewable energy sources to power generation.

Solar power generation has become a major strategy in many countries around the world. The president said rooftop solar panel systems should be used as an immediate solution to the current energy crisis.

Additional Managing Director (Transmission) of Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB), PW Hendahewa, pointed out that based on the existing capacity of the main power grid, new power generation in the amount of 1,000 megawatts can be added to the network.

It costs Rs.100 to generate a unit of electricity using oil and more than Rs.50 using coal. Public Utilities Commission chief executive Damitha Kumarasinghe said more than $300 billion could be saved each year if renewable energy sources were used instead.

Thermal power generation costs more than $100 million per month.

As a result, Energy and Energy Minister Kanchana Wijesekera stressed that it will be difficult to supply electricity at current prices.

Environment Ministry Secretary Dr Anil Jasinghe said a large area of ​​land could be saved by using the roofs of government buildings, including schools and hospitals, in the process of generating electricity. from solar energy.

Secretary to President Gamini Senarath, Chief of Staff to President Anura Dissanayake, Secretaries of Ministries and Heads of Line Institutions were also present.

Comments are closed.